On December 18, 1974, the Tarlac College of Agriculture was established by virtue Presidential Decree No. 609 and Doctor of Veterinary Medicine was one of the mandates that needed to be offered under this decree.

Board Resolution No. 281, s. 1980, approved the offering of Doctor of Veterinary Medicine program, a ladderized curriculum, under the Institute of Veterinary Science and Medicine during the second semester of the school year 1980-1981 and continued until 1988 with Dr. Luther Contreras as the first Dean and Dr. Pedro Vergara as his successor until 1988.

The Institute of Veterinary Medicine was created and approved through Board Resolution No. 40, s. 1992 and offered Doctor of Veterinary Medicine program which recommenced on the first semester of academic year 1993-1994. The Technical Panel for Agricultural Education (TPAE) evaluated the program on March 26, 1998 with Dr. Julieta R. Parairo as the Dean.

The Board of Veterinary Medicine under the Professional Regulation Commission evaluated the program on June 25, 2008 with Dr. Ma. Asuncion G. Beltran as the Dean. The Doctor of Veterinary Medicine program was subjected to Preliminary Survey on November 15-21, 2010 and was awarded a Candidate Status of accreditation by the Accrediting Agency of Chartered Colleges and Universities of the Philippines (AACCUP). In September 2011, it was granted Level 1. In July 2012, the Institute passed the Technical Panel for Agriculture Education (TPAE) evaluation and was rated as one of the highest among the schools in the Philippines offering the degree Doctor of Veterinary Medicine with Dr. Sinamar E. Estudillo as the Dean.

 2014, under the truncheon of Dr. Ma. Asuncion G. Beltran, IVM was awarded Level II Re-accredited status after the AACCUP Second Survey Visit. Furthermore, Dr. Beltran pushed IVM to be part of international organizations in preparation for internationalization such as institutional affiliation in the Southeast Asian Veterinary Schools Association (SEAVSA) and the  Asian Association of Veterinary Schools (AAVS).

In 2015, numerous international linkages were established. The scope of cooperation included student and staff exchange on research and academic mobility such as internship in Israel and student skills Olympics in Thailand and other ASEAN countries.  

In May 2016, by virtue of R.A. 10800, TCA was converted into Tarlac Agricultural University. The Institute of Veterinary Medicine is now named the College of Veterinary Medicine with Dr. Ma. Asuncion G. Beltran as the first College Dean.